useful information

share this page


The Department offers 5 programmes in the Interiors discipline. 

  • Interior Architecture (Level 7) (Accredited by ECIA)
  • Interior Architecture (Honours) (Level 8) (Accredited by ECIA)
  • Taught Masters in Interior Architecture (1yr Level 9)
  • Masters by Research in Interior Architecture (2 years Level 9) available now, starts Sept 2017. Applications closed for 2016-17
  • PhD (Level 10)  by research 3 years available now, starts Sept 2017. Apply Directly

Master of Science in Interior Architecture (12 Months)

There are two offerings, a 1 year taught masters and 2 year research masters. The taught masters offer the opportunity to specialise in chosen areas of the Interior discipline. Students can choose from a suite of modules to suit their own interests. This will be supported by a core studio element and there is a choice of dissemination routes. (Studio project / exhibition/ thesis / papers / web /construction / etc).

Module Descriptor:

Interior Architecture (Level 7&8)

Interior architecture is specific to a building's interior. It stands at the intersection of Architecture, design of the built environment, sustainability and conservation.   Unlike interior design, it is architecture within the confines of an existing building. As such, the course, requires a level of technical competence to compare with  that of the architect.   At Cork Institute of Technology, interior architecture covers the spectrum of industry specialisms. It involves the initial design, planning for use to accommodate a changed purpose, or a significantly revised design for adaptive reuse of the building shell.